Friday, October 14, 2016

Lee Thompson Ska Orchestra - Bite The Bullet (2016) CD

Year: 2016 (CD 2016)
Label: Axe Attack Records (UK), CDAXE4
Style: Reggae, Ska
Country: UK
Time: 40:26
Format: Flac Tracks 16/44,1 kHz
Size: 304 Mb

The Lee Thompson Ska Orchestra are a British band formed in 2011 by Madness saxophonist Lee Thompson. The band consists of an ever-shifting line-up of ska and reggae-orientated musicians playing classic ska covers. Their debut album was released in 2013.
The band was formed in April 2011 to play a concert at The Regal in Oxford. After being asked to put together a group of musicians for the occasion, Thompson contacted Madness bassist Mark Bedford with the idea of putting together a group to play the old reggae and ska tunes that had inspired them to become musicians. Together, they assembled a group of previous collaborators, including Seamus Beaghan, who had played with Madness after keyboardist Mike Barson's departure; Terry Edwards, who, with Bedford created jazz duo BUtterfield 8; Louis Vause, a member of Thompson's other offshoot band Crunch, and Kevin Burdett, who had also played with Madness during Chris Foreman's hiatus from the band. The positive reception to the gig led to other performances, mostly around London and Brighton (including a support slot with Thompson and Bedford's primary band, Madness, at Butlin's, Minehead in Nov 2012), and an expansion of the line-up.

01. Bite The Bullet (02:53)
02. 30-60-90 (02:25)
03. Feel A Little Better (03:38)
04. Cry To Me (03:05)
05. I'll Be Back (03:10)
06. Hongry (04:03)
07. Western Standard Time (02:36)
08. I Am King (03:25)
09. On Her Majesty's Secret Service (03:05)
10. Step It Up Sister (03:14)
11. Cuss Cuss (03:57)
12. Wickerman (04:49)