Sunday, September 29, 2019

Slade - Slade's Greats (1984) (Vinyl)

Year: 1984 (LP 1984)
Label: Polydor Records (UK), SLAD 1 821 475-1
Style: Glam Rock
Country: Wolverhampton, Staffordshire, England
Time: 61:57
Format: Flac Tracks 16/44,1 kHz
Size: 394 Mb

"Slades Greats" is a compilation album by the British glam rock group Slade. It was released 12 May 1984 and reached number 89 on the UK charts.
The album was issued following the success of the singles My Oh My and Run Runaway although the singles were not included in the compilation. The album focused on the band's hits from the 1970s, songs similar to the 1980 compilation Slade Smashes.
Slade are an English rock band from Wolverhampton. They rose to prominence during the glam rock era in the early 1970s, achieving 17 consecutive top 20 hits and six number ones on the UK Singles Chart. The British Hit Singles & Albums names them the most successful British group of the 1970s based on sales of singles. They were the first act to have three singles enter the charts at number one; all six of the band's chart-toppers were penned by Noddy Holder and Jim Lea. As of 2006, total UK sales stand at 6,520,171, and their best-selling single, "Merry Xmas Everybody", has sold in excess of one million copies. According to the 1999 BBC documentary It's Slade, the band have sold over 50 million records worldwide.
Matrix Side1: SLAD1 1A 420W, Side2: SLAD1 1B 420W.

01. A1 Cum On Feel the Noize (1973 1) (04:32)
02. A2 My Friend Stan (1973 2) (02:42)
03. A3 Far Far Away (1974 2) (03:37)
04. A4 Coz I Luv You (1971 1) (03:35)
05. A5 Everyday (1974 3) (03:12)
06. A6 Thanks For The Memory (1975 7) (04:35)
07. A7 The Bangin' Man (1974 3) (04:13)
08. A8 Skweeze Me Pleeze Me (1973 1) (04:38)
09. B1 Mama Weer All Crazee Now (1972 1) (03:46)
10. B2 Look Wot You Dun (1972 4) (02:58)
11. B3 Take Me Bak 'Ome (1972 1) (03:16)
12. B4 Let's Call It Quits (1976 11) (03:35)
13. B5 Merry Xmas Everybody (1973 1) (03:46)
14. B6 How Does It Feel (1975 15) (05:58)
15. B7 Get Down And Get With It (1971 16) (03:51)
16. B8 Gudbuy T'Jane (1972 2) (03:35)


Saturday, September 28, 2019

Uriah Heep - Look At Yourself (1971) (Russian Vinyl)

Year: 1971
Label: SNC Records (USSR), ME 1997
Style: Hard Rock
Country: London, England
Time: 40:29
Format: Flac Tracks 16/44,1 kHz
Size: 259 Mb

Characterized as heavy metal and progressive rock, the album came to be viewed as a high point in the band's career, and is today regarded by many fans and critics as Uriah Heep's finest album along with Demons and Wizards, released the following year. The title track and "July Morning" were released as singles in the UK and North America in 1971 and 1973, respectively. Look at Yourself was ranked at No. 97 in the 100 Heavy Metal albums of All Time list published by the magazine Kerrang!.
"Look at Yourself" was the last Uriah Heep album to feature founding member and bassist Paul Newton.
The song "July Morning" was the inspiration for a Bulgarian tradition, known eponymously as July Morning or "Julaya", of gathering on the beach on the Black Sea coast on the morning of 1 July to watch the sunrise.
The album was mentioned in the David Sedaris book Barrel Fever, in "Don's Story".

01. A1 Look At Yourself (05:05)
02. A2 I Wanna Be Free (03:56)
03. A3 July Morning (10:19)
04. B1 Tears In My Eyes (04:54)
05. B2 Shadows Of Grief (08:30)
06. B3 What Should Be Done (04:08)
07. B4 Love Machine (03:34)


Saturday, September 21, 2019

Emerson Lake and Powell - Emerson Lake and Powell (1986) (Russian Vinyl)

Year: 1986 (LP 1987)
Label: Melodia Records (USSR), C60 26463 008
Style: Sympho-Pop Rock, Hard Rock
Country: UK
Time: 43:06
Format: Flac Tracks 16/44,1 kHz
Size: 282 Mb

Emerson, Lake & Powell, sometimes abbreviated as ELPowell or ELP2, were an English progressive rock band, an offshoot or variant lineup of Emerson, Lake & Palmer, that released one official studio album in 1986. The album's debut single was "Touch and Go" which peaked at number 60 on the Billboard charts on July 19, 1986.
Keith Emerson and Greg Lake had planned to re-form the original ELP in 1985 but drummer Carl Palmer was unavailable because of contractual obligations to Asia. After auditioning a series of drummers unwilling to commit to the band, they approached Cozy Powell, a longtime friend of Emerson's, to replace him. The band have always insisted that it was a coincidence that his surname also happened to start with a P, thus allowing the band to retain its original initials, although they also joked about looking for a "Gene Prupa" and having approached "Phil Pollins" and "Ringo Parr" before Powell agreed to join. Shortly into recording, Emerson's barn studio was destroyed by a runaway tractor, requiring some parts of the album to be rerecorded, leading him to joke, "Perhaps we should have called it 'Emerson, Lake & Plow!"
The band's self-titled studio album was a return to the familiar ELP style, with long progressive rock suites, mellow ballads and a classical theme ("Mars, the Bringer of War" by Gustav Holst, a piece previously performed by Lake during his tenure in King Crimson). One song, "The Score", even references the lyric "Welcome back, my friends, to the show that never ends" from ELP's "Karn Evil 9: First Impression" (on the album Brain Salad Surgery). Initially, when the record company suggested that the group perform "Mars," Emerson refused, saying it would be like ELP Plays the Classics or Richard Clayderman Plays 'Clair de Lune'. After Powell showed him a video of one of his former bands playing the number, however, Emerson agreed to try it.

01. A1 The Score (09:12)
02. A2 Learning To Fly (04:03)
03. A3 The Miracle (06:51)
04. B1 Touch And Go (03:40)
05. B2 Love Blind (03:10)
06. B3 Step Aside (03:48)
07. B4 Lay Down Your Guns (04:24)
08. B5 Mars, The Bringer Of War (07:55)


Saturday, September 14, 2019

Emerson Lake and Palmer - Emerson Lake and Palmer (1970) (Vinyl)

Year: 1970 (LP 1983)
Label: Manticore Records (Germany), 87 224 ET
Style: Symphonic Rock
Country: Croydon, London
Time: 41:05
Format: Flac Tracks 16/44,1 kHz
Size: 256 Mb

Legendary progressive rock giants Emerson, Lake & Palmer were formed in 1970 by the brilliant keyboard virtuoso Keith Emerson, gifted singer / composer / guitarist Greg Lake and dynamic drummer / percussionist Carl Palmer. Torchbearers of the progressive rock sound, ELP jointly created the supergroup concept and are among the most important bands in the history of rock music, helping to broaden the genre audience into tens of millions. One of the most commercially successful rock bands of the 1970s, ELP’s first 7 albums reached U.K. Top 10 and U.S. Top 20. Despite the tragic deaths of Keith Emerson and Greg Lake in 2016, their inspirational music lives on. This new 4LP Anthology showcases the immense musical talents of all three members, and contains a wealth of career-spanning ELP audio and visual treasure.

The album peaked at No. 18 on the Billboard 200. "Lucky Man" reached No. 48 on the Billboard Hot 100. On the UK charts the album peaked at #4.

Keith Noel Emerson (2 November 1944 – 11 March 2016) - keyboards
Carl Frederick Kendall Palmer (born 20 March 1950) - drums
Gregory Stuart Lake (10 November 1947 – 7 December 2016) - bass guitar, acoustic and electric guitar, harmonica, vocals

01. A1 The Barbarian (04:27)
02. A2 Take A Pebble (12:30)
03. A3 Knife-Edge (05:03)
04. B1 The Three Fates (07:43)
05. B2 Tank (06:45)
06. B3 Lucky Man (04:36)