Wednesday, June 26, 2019

The Scaffold (Mike McCartney) - Singles A's And B's (1982) (Vinyl)

Year: 1982 (1966-1974)
Label: See For Miles, Charly Records (UK), CM 114
Style: Classic Rock, Comedy Rock
Country: Liverpool, England
Time: 60:52
Format: Flac Tracks 16/44,1
Size: 385 Mb

The Scaffold were a comedy, poetry and music trio from Liverpool, England, consisting of musical performer Mike McGear (real name Peter Michael McCartney, the brother of Paul McCartney), poet Roger McGough and comic entertainer John Gorman.
From as early as 1962 the members of The Scaffold were part of a performing revue group known as The Liverpool One Fat Lady All Electric Show. ("One Fat Lady" is the bingo term for 8 and the performers mostly lived in the Liverpool 8 district.) McGough's fellow Liverpool poet Adrian Henri was also a founder member of this early configuration.
Working almost exclusively as a trio under the name The Scaffold from 1964, Gorman, McGear and McGough performed a mixture of comic songs, comedy sketches and the poetry of McGough (as evidenced on their 1968 live album), and they released a number of singles and albums on Parlophone and EMI between 1966 and 1971, with several more on Island, Warner Bros. and Bronze thereafter.
Their best known recording is "Lily the Pink" which topped the UK charts in 1968. The group also composed and sang the theme tune to the popular BBC TV comedy The Liver Birds, which aired from 1969–1978.
Matrix: MPO CM114 A1, MPO CM114 B1

01. A1 2 Day's Monday (1966) (02:26)
02. A2 Goodbat Nightman (1966) (02:16)
03. A3 Thank U Very Much (1967) (02:19)
04. A4 Do You Remember (1968) (02:54)
05. A5 1 2 3 (1968) (03:29)
06. A6 Lily The Pink (1968) (04:20)
07. A7 Charity Bubbles (1969) (02:40)
08. A8 Gin Gan Goolie (1969) (02:46)
09. A9 Liver Birds (1969) (02:31)
10. A10 Busdreams (1970) (02:04)
11. A11 Liverpool Lou (1974) (02:56)
12. B1 3 Blind Jellyfish (1966) (02:03)
13. B2 Ide B. The First (1967) (01:36)
14. B3 Carry On Krow (1968) (01:55)
15. B4 Today (1968) (02:46)
16. B5 Buttons Of Your Mind (1968) (03:37)
17. B6 Goose (1969) (02:41)
18. B7 All The Way Up (1970) (03:25)
19. B8 Please Sorry (1970) (02:31)
20. B9 Ten Years After On Strawberry Jam (1974) (02:56)
21. B10 Commercial Break (1971) (02:55)
22. B11 Do The Albert (1971) (03:39)


Tuesday, June 25, 2019

The Pretty Things - 1967-1971 (1982) (Vinyl)

Year: 1967-1971 (LP 1982)
Label: See For Miles Records, Charly Records (UK), CM 103
Style: Rock
Country: London, England
Time: 47:42
Format: Flac Tracks 16/44,1 kHz
Size: 311 Mb

Pretty Things are an English rock band from London, who originally formed in 1963. They took their name from Willie Dixon's 1955 song "Pretty Thing". A pure rhythm and blues band in their early years, with several singles charting in the United Kingdom, they later embraced other genres such as psychedelic rock in the late 1960s (with 1968 S.F. Sorrow being one of the first rock operas).
Matrix: CM 103 A1 MPO, CM 103 B1 MPO

01. A1 Defecting Grey (04:27)
02. A2 Mr. Evasion (03:28)
03. A3 Talkin' About The Good Times (03:37)
04. A4 Walking Through My Dreams (03:35)
05. A5 Private Sorrow (03:52)
06. A6 Balloon Burning (03:56)
07. B1 The Good Mr. Square (03:00)
08. B2 Blue Serge Blues (03:50)
09. B3 October 26 (04:52)
10. B4 Cold Stone (03:08)
11. B5 Summertime (04:26)
12. B6 Circus Mind (02:00)
13. B7 Stone Hearted Mama (03:26)


Saturday, June 15, 2019

The Pretty Things - Silk Torpedo (1974) (Vinyl)

Year: November 1, 1974 (LP 1974)
Label: Swan Song Records (UK), SSK 59400
Style: Rhythm and Blues, Glam Rock
Country: London, England
Time: 42:12
Format: Flac Tracks 16/44,1
Size: 279 Mb

"Silk Torpedo" is the seventh album by English rock band The Pretty Things. This is their second album without Wally Waller, the group's rhythm guitarist/bassist since 1967. The album has more of a glam rock feel, a contrast from their early R&B years and their psychedelic years.
The album was the first to be released in the UK on the Swan Song Records label.

01. A1 Dream (06:46)
02. A2 Maybe You Tried (04:23)
03. A3 Atlanta (02:41)
04. A4 L A N T A (02:23)
05. A5 Is It Only Love (05:07)
06. B1 Come Home Momma (03:42)
07. B2 Bridge Of God (04:57)
08. B3 Singapore Silk Torpedo (05:13)
09. B4 Belfast Cowboys (06:56)


Friday, June 7, 2019

Slade - Slayed (1972) (Vinyl)

Year: 1 November 1972 (LP 1972)
Label: Polydor Records (Germany), 2383 163
Style: Glam Rock
Country: Wolverhampton, Staffordshire, England
Time: 34:38
Format: Flac Tracks 16/44,1
Size: 255 Mb

Slayed? is the third studio album by the British rock group Slade. It was released on 1 November 1972 and reached No. 1 in the UK. It remained on the chart for 34 weeks and was certified Silver in early 1973. The album was also the band's most successful of the 1970s in the US, peaking at No. 69 and remaining in the charts for 26 weeks. In Australia, the album reached No. 1 and went Gold, knocking the band's live album Slade Alive! to No. 2. Slayed? was produced by Chas Chandler.

01. A1 How D'You Ride (03:12)
02. A2 The Whole World's Goin' Crazee (03:37)
03. A3 Look At Last Nite (03:06)
04. A4 I Won't Let It 'Appen Agen (03:16)
05. A5 Move Over (03:44)
06. B1 Gudbuy T'Jane (03:33)
07. B2 Gudbuy Gudbuy (03:29)
08. B3 Mama Weer All Crazee Now (03:44)
09. B4 I Don' Mind (03:08)
10. B5 Let The Good Times Roll (03:45)

ClipWatching - Prelistening - Vinyl Rip Full Album: ClipWatching


Saturday, June 1, 2019

Deep Purple - The Book of Taliesyn (1968) (Vinyl)

Year: June 1969 (UK), October 1968 (US), (LP 18 Apr 2015)
Label: Harvest/EMI Records (UK), HVL 751 2564618347
Style: Hard Rock
Country: Hertford, Hertfordshire, England
Time: 43:47
Format: Flac Tracks 16/44,1 kHz
Size: 253 Mb

The Book of Taliesyn is the second studio album by English rock band Deep Purple, recorded only three months after Shades of Deep Purple and released by Tetragrammaton Records in October 1968, just before their first US tour. The name for the album was taken from the 14th-century Book of Taliesin.
The structure of the album is similar to that of their debut, with four original songs and three rearranged covers, although the tracks are longer, the arrangements more complex and the sound more polished than on Shades of Deep Purple. The music style is a mix of psychedelic rock, progressive rock and hard rock, with several inserts of classical music arranged by the band's keyboard player Jon Lord.

"The Book of Taliesyn" Charts: Canada #48, Billboard 200 (USA) #54
Recorded - August and October 1968. Studio - De Lane Lea Studios, Kingsway, London. Producer - Derek Lawrence.
Matrix Side A: BE 71381-01 A1, Side B: BE 71381-01 B1

01. A1 Listen Learn Read On (04:03)
02. A2 Hard Road (05:15)
03. A3 Kentucky Woman (04:45)
04. A4 a-Exposition b-We Can Work It Out (07:00)
05. B1 The Shield (06:01)
06. B2 Anthem (06:31)
07. B3 River Deep Mountain High (10:10)

Rod Evans – lead vocals
Nick Simper – bass, backing vocals
Ritchie Blackmore – guitar
Jon Lord – Hammond organ, keyboards, backing vocals, strings arrangement on "Anthem"
Ian Paice – drums