Saturday, October 5, 2019

Monkees - More Of The Monkees (1966) (Vinyl)

Year: 1966 (LP 1967)
Label: RCA Victor Records (UK), RD 7868
Style: Rock
Country: Los Angeles, California, U.S.
Time: 28:38
Format: Flac Tracks 16/44,1 kHz
Size: 178 Mb

The Monkees are an American rock and pop band originally active between 1966 and 1971, with reunion albums and tours in the decades that followed. Their original line-up consisted of the American actor/musicians Micky Dolenz, Michael Nesmith, and Peter Tork with English actor/singer Davy Jones. The group was conceived in 1965 by television producers Bob Rafelson and Bert Schneider specifically for the situation comedy series The Monkees, which aired from 1966 to 1968. The band's music was initially supervised by record producer Don Kirshner, backed by the songwriting duo of Tommy Boyce and Bobby Hart.
The four actor/musicians were initially allowed only limited roles in the recording studio for the first few months of their five-year career as "the Monkees". This was due in part to the amount of time required to film the television series. Nonetheless, Nesmith composed and produced some songs from the beginning, and Tork contributed limited guitar work on the sessions produced by Nesmith. All four contributed lead vocals to various tracks. They eventually fought for the right to collectively supervise all musical output under the band's name, acting as musicians, singers, songwriters, and producers.
Following the television show's cancellation in 1968, the Monkees continued to record music until 1971, after which the group broke up. A revival of interest in the television show came in 1986, which led to a series of reunion tours and new records. The group has reunited and toured several times since then with different line-ups and varying degrees of success. Jones died in February 2012 and Tork died in February 2019. Dolenz and Nesmith remain active members of the group.

01. A1 She (02:40)
02. A2 When Love Comes Knockin' (At Your Door) (01:49)
03. A3 Mary, Mary (02:19)
04. A4 Hold On Girl (02:29)
05. A5 Your Auntie Grizelda (02:30)
06. A6 (I'm Not Your) Steppin' Stone (02:24)
07. B1 Look Out (Here Comes Tomorrow) (02:17)
08. B2 The Kind Of Girl I Could Love (01:53)
09. B3 The Day We Fall In Love (02:25)
10. B4 Sometime In The Morning (02:30)
11. B5 Laugh (02:30)
12. B6 I'm A Believer (02:48)


No comments:

Post a Comment