Sunday, September 1, 2019

John Mayall - Blues Breakers with Eric Clapton (1966) (Vinyl 180g, 4 bonus tracks)

Year: 22 July 1966 (LP 2008)
Label: Decca Records, Lilith Records (Russia), 900020
Style: Blues Rock
Country: Macclesfield, England
Time: 54:51
Format: Flac Tracks 16/44,1 kHz
Size: 341 Mb

Blues Breakers with Eric Clapton (a.k.a. The Beano Album) is a 1966 blues/blues rock album recorded by John Mayall & the Bluesbreakers with Eric Clapton as part of the band. It is the second album credited to John Mayall after the live John Mayall Plays John Mayall. Clapton left to form Cream after this recording, though would team up again in 1971 for the double LP Back to the Roots.
It is also known as The Beano Album because of its cover photograph showing Eric Clapton reading The Beano, a British children's comic. Clapton stated in his autobiography that he was reading The Beano on the cover because he felt like being "uncooperative" during the photo shoot. The photographer was Derek Wedgbury and the location was near the Old Kent Road.
In 2003 the album was ranked number 195 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time. The album was included in Robert Dimery's 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die. Apart from being one of the most influential blues albums, it also started the now-legendary combination of a Gibson Les Paul guitar through an overdriven Marshall Bluesbreaker amplifier.
Originally, John Mayall intended for his second album to be also a live one in order to capture the guitar solos performed by Eric Clapton. A set was recorded at the Flamingo Club, with Jack Bruce (with whom Clapton would subsequently work in Cream) on bass. The recordings of the concert, however, were of bad quality and were scrapped.
The album consists of blues standards by long-established artists such as Otis Rush, Freddie King and Robert Johnson, as well as a few originals penned by Mayall and Clapton. Most tracks serve as a showcase for Clapton's playing. Although he sang on several Yardbirds' recordings, "Ramblin' on My Mind" was Clapton's first recorded solo lead vocal performance, which Eric had been reluctant to record.

John Mayall – lead vocals, piano, Hammond B3 organ, harmonica
Eric Clapton – lead guitar, lead vocals on "Ramblin' on My Mind"
John McVie – bass guitar
Hughie Flint – drums

01. A1 All Your Love (03:34)
02. A2 Hideaway (03:15)
03. A3 Little Girl (02:35)
04. A4 Another Man (01:46)
05. A5 Double Crossing Time (03:02)
06. A6 What'd I Say (04:27)
07. A7 Parchman Farm (02:22)
08. A8 Ramblin' On My Mind (03:08)
09. A9 It Ain't Right (02:39)
10. B1 Key To Love (02:06)
11. B2 Have You Heard (05:52)
12. B3 Steppin' Out (02:28)
13. B4 They Call It Stormy Monday (Bonus Live) (04:33)
14. B5 Intro To Maudie (Bonus Live) (02:25)
15. B6 Have You Ever Loved A Woman (Bonus Live) (06:40)
16. B7 Hoochie Coochie Man (Bonus Live) (03:53)


No comments:

Post a Comment