Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Andrew Lloyd Webber - Jesus Christ Superstar (1970) (Russian Vinyl)

Year: 1970 (LP 1991)
Label: AnTrop Records (USSR), П91 00029
Style: Rock-Opera
Country: UK
Time: 43:27, 42:50
Format: Flac Tracks 16/44,1 kHz
Size: 287, 277 Mb

Jesus Christ Superstar is a 1970 rock opera by Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice. The album musical is a musical dramatisation of the last week of the life of Jesus Christ, beginning with his entry into Jerusalem and ending with the Crucifixion. It was originally banned by the BBC on grounds of being "sacrilegious.
The album's story is based in large part on the Synoptic Gospels and Fulton J. Sheen's Life of Christ, which compares and calibrates all four Gospels. However, greater emphasis is placed on the interpersonal relationships of the major characters, in particular, Jesus, Judas and Mary Magdalene, relationships that are not described in depth in the Gospels.
"Herod's Song (Try It and See)" is a lyrical rewrite of "Try It and See," previously written by Lloyd Webber and Rice as a proposed UK entry into the 1969 Eurovision Song Contest to be sung by Lulu, then recorded and released as a single by Rita Pavone. The writers had also included it (as "Those Saladin Days") in an aborted show called Come Back Richard Your Country Needs You.
The melody of "I Don't Know How to Love Him" also predates Superstar; it was rewritten from a 1968 Lloyd Webber/Rice collaboration titled "Kansas Morning."

01. A1 Overture (03:55)
02. A2 Heaven on Their Minds (04:19)
03. A3 What’s the Buzz - Strange Thing Mystifying (04:12)
04. A4 Everything’s Alright (05:09)
05. A5 This Jesus Must Die (03:32)
06. A6 Hosanna (02:08)
07. B1 Simon Zealotes - Poor Jerusalem (04:46)
08. B2 Pilate’s Dream (01:26)
09. B3 The Temple (04:40)
10. B4 Everything’s Alright (00:35)
11. B5 I Don’t Know How to Love Him (03:32)
12. B6 Damned for All Time - Blood Money (05:06)

01. C1 The Last Supper (07:04)
02. C2 Gethsemane (I Only Want to Say) (05:30)
03. C3 The Arrest (03:19)
04. C4 Peter’s Denial (01:26)
05. C5 Pilate and Christ (02:43)
06. C6 Herod’s Song (Try It and See) (03:00)
07. D1 Judas' Death (04:13)
08. D2 Trial Before Pilate (05:10)
09. D3 Superstar (04:13)
10. D4 The Crucifixion (04:02)
11. D5 John Nineteen Forty-One (02:05)

LP1 Prelistening Andrew Lloyd Webber - Jesus Christ Superstar 1970 Vinyl Full Album:

LP2 Prelistening Andrew Lloyd Webber - Jesus Christ Superstar 1970 Vinyl Full Album: