Thursday, September 4, 2014

The Sweet - The Sweet (Compilation) (1978) (Vinyl, Lossless, Mp3)

Year: 1978 (LP 1978, Compilation)
Label: Camden, RCA Records (UK), CDS 1168
Style: Rock
Country: UK
Time: 38:11
Format: Flac Tracks 16/44,1 kHz
Size: 261 Mb

Sweet (also referred to as The Sweet) were a British rock band that rose to worldwide fame in the 1970s as a prominent glam rock act, with their most prolific line-up: lead vocalist Brian Connolly, bass player Steve Priest, guitarist Andy Scott, and drummer Mick Tucker.
Sweet were formed in 1968 and achieved their first hit "Funny Funny" in 1971 after teaming up with songwriters Nicky Chinn and Mike Chapman and record producer Phil Wainman. During 1971 and 1972, their musical style followed a marked progression from the Archies-like bubblegum style of "Funny Funny" to a Who-influenced hard rock style supplemented by a striking use of high-pitched backing vocals.
The band achieved notable success in the UK charts, with thirteen Top 20 hits during the 1970s alone, with "Block Buster!" (1973) topping the chart, followed by three consecutive number two hits in "Hell Raiser" (1973), "The Ballroom Blitz" (1973) and "Teenage Rampage" (1974). The band turned to more Hard Rock style with their mid-career singles like 1974's "Turn It Down". Their first self-written and produced single, "Fox on the Run" (1975), also reached number two on the UK charts. These results were topped in West Germany and other countries on the European mainland, where the band was very popular.

Данная пластинка включает в себя, практически полностью (без двух песен) альбом 1971 года "Funny How Sweet Co-Co Can Be" - первые 9 песен. Последние две дорожки  - это sigle 1972 года. Сторона A: "Wig-Wam Bam" и сторона B: "New York Connection". Ну а десятая песня "Man from Mecca" - это сторона "B" с другого сингла того же 72 года. На стороне "A" была записана "Little Willy".
Как видим в сборник вошли песни написанные только в 71 и 72 годах, приходящиеся на пик творчества Mike Chapman и Nicky Chinn. Все песни, кроме 3, 4, 10 и 11, на этом диске принадлежат перу этого дуэта.

01. A1 Co-Co (03:14)
02. A2 Chop Chop (03:01)
03. A3 Reflections (02:51)
04. A4 Honysuckle Love (02:57)
05. A5 Santa Monica Sunshine (03:27)
06. A6 Daydream (03:10)
07. B1 Funny Funny (02:50)
08. B2 Tom Tom Turnaround (04:10)
09. B3 Sunny Sleeps Late (03:00)
10. B4 Man From Mecca (02:48)
11. B5 New York Connection (03:37)
12. B6 Wig-Wam Bam (03:01)

Пароль (Password): ggggg

(Turbobit) Flac 16/44 The Sweet